21.5.15 – Simple Modern Sewing

Cap-Sleeve Top, Boat-neck Dress and Long Pants from ‘Simple Modern Sewing’
IMG_1745

I bought the Japanese sewing book Simple Modern Sewing because I really liked the picture of the wrap top on the front.  I have made three garments from the book now..

 

 

 

elastic-pants

Long Pants

boat-neck-dress

Boat-neck Dress

tie-top

Cap-Sleeve Top

 

 

 

 

 

The long pants are made from a burgundy marl knit fabric I bought from myfabrics (85% Polyester, 10% Viscose, 5% Spandex) They have an elasticated waist. The dress is made from some Robert Kaufman cotton fabric from Plush Addict and the top fabric I picked up whilst visiting my brother from a little shop in Stratford-Upon-Avon called Sew Me Something

All the designs in this book are loose fitting, the models are all swimming in their clothes – and these are petite Japanese lady models.  So I picked a smaller size than I might if they were more fitted.  A thing to remember is that the patterns don’t include the seam allowance (I forgot this when making the wrap top and it still has room to spare!)

The instructions assume a certain level of knowledge and miss out some of the more basic steps.  This might be a good book for an experienced sewer who wants some base patterns to adapt.

Tracing the patterns from the multi-pattern sheet can be very confusing.  They are not colour coded and are very jumbled. I had real trouble with them, you can see why in the picture below!

IMG_0049

Ollie ‘helping’

Anyway, I’m about done with this book.  I’m not that excited by any of the patterns.  I wear the pants around the house but I wouldn’t wear them in public and the other two items may get worn over the summer.

Leave a Reply

