22.5.15 – Cross Your Heart Knit Top

Cross your Heart Top by Christine Johnson 

Fabric used ‘Charlie Harper – Twigs’ – Cotton Interlock Knit from FabricWorm


First day of a four-day weekend so I started in earnest and sewed this knit top from Christine Johnson.  I had made a quick muslin with some scrappy old jersey I had and decided to grade the seam allowance out a little so it wasn’t so clingy around the middle.  This is a really gorgeous interlock fabric which I have had for ages and have been scared to cut in to.  I ordered it from Fabricworm in America.  There seems to be a much better choice of knit fabrics in USA compared to here and I couldn’t find anything as nice.  I can’t afford to do this often, it works out really expensive with the postage included, so this and another lovely piece have been sitting in my stash waiting for the perfect pattern. I’m pretty happy with this top, it’s very comfy and it was fairly easy to put together .

cross1

An update on my Janome – well I went to pick him up from the shop this morning and boy do I feel stupid – there was nothing wrong!  Unbeknownst to me there is a switch on the pedal for changing from high to low speed and I must have hit it whilst vacuuming.  On the low speed setting the machine makes the load clunky noise that made me think it was broken!  The lovely man in our local sewing shop explained all this to me and he didn’t even charge me anything for looking at it.  It is a super friendly shop if you’re ever in the area Bath Sewing Studio

cross2

cross3


Leave a Reply

