20.2.16 – Rosari Skirt

Hello and happy Saturday everybody.  How’s things?  So if you read my last post you’ll know that I was feeling rather pleased with myself for having made a pair of jeans.  I wore said jeans two or three times and they were really comfy.  Then I threw them in the wash.  When they came out the … ahem …. ‘bottom’ seam (you know the one that rips with a comical sound in cartoons when the fat man bends over) had been rent asunder.  It hadn’t just split – the fabric had totally disintegrated away from the stitching.

There hadn’t been much wiggle room in the behind area of those particular pants so there was no option to sew it together again.  In other words, they are a goner. *sad face*

This links in a tenuous way to todays post by way of pockets – read on to find out more. This is my review of the Rosari Skirt by Pauline Alice

rosari-skirt-pauline-alice

I loved this pattern as soon as I saw it – it’s an A-line button front skirt with two length options and four pocket variations. I ordered myself a copy straight away.

It’s a fairly straight-forward pattern and I think I avoided the two more complicated pocket styles as I opted for the simple patch pocket on my first version and the pleated pocket for my second.  Yes, I loved it so much I made it twice 🙂

rosari 1

The first version I made from a chunky turquoise corduroy from MyFabrics.  When I ordered it I didn’t realise quite how chunky the cords are (on a side note, this dressmaking malarkey has inspired in me a growing fascination into the history and make-up and general nerd-facts of different types of fabric.  So I discovered that the number of cords per inch is called the ‘wale count’) Anyhoo …. so because of the ‘low wale count’ the fabric is quite sturdy and holds it’s shape very well. rosari 6I did think it might be a bit TOO sturdy for this skirt because when I tried on version 1 it was like wearing a triangle!  It still feels like this but seeing the photos of it on has changed my mind, I think this design suits that definite A-line shape.IMG_2767.jpg

I didn’t have to make any alterations to this at all.  I cut out my size and it fits like a dream.  It’s strange that I didn’t have to shorten it because I’m 5′ 3″.  If you’re a bit more average of height I think this long version would hit above the knee.

rosari 2

How seventies is this get up?  Polo neck, corduroy skirt and brown wedges.

rosari 4

The whole thing goes together very neatly.  The most time-consuming part was all those buttons!  However I discovered during this project that my machine not only sews buttonholes, it can sew on the actual buttons!  I had no idea.  It’s an on-the-spot zig-zag stitch using a see-through foot.  Probably you sewists reading this were already aware of this magic but I am so happy to have discovered it!

rosari 3

I managed to twist the waistband a little whilst putting in the belt loops but with a belt in I don’t think you can notice.  Anyway, I was very pleased with the finished result, so pleased in fact that i didn’t even pack away the pattern pieces … I went straight on to make another one.

rosari 12

There is something really nice I think about making a second version of a garment quite soon after the first while the process is still fresh in your mind.  I really enjoyed it.  The second one I made from a much more lightweight denim fabric.

rosari 7

This time I made the pleated pockets with flaps for the front and patched pockets on the back.  And this is where the memory of my beloved Ginger jeans will live on.  You may recall that I had a flash of inspiration about using the selvedge of the denim to fancy up the back pockets.  I got loads of compliments on those pockets (from the online sewing world obvs … normal people don’t go around complimenting you on your pockets usually!)  So I decided to try it again. rosari 7

Not quite as va-va-voom as Ginger but the idea lives on.

I really decided to push the sartorial boat out with this second version and used flat-fell seams for the two side seams.  I used a natural colour top-stitching thread which stands out nicely and really highlights every slight bit of wonkiness in my stitching!  Ah well, I can only be getting better (she hopes)

rosari 9

The buttons are great, I got them from the craft stall at our local market. They are wooden and a slightly irregular shape, as if they’ve been sliced from a twig.

rosari 10

So – all in all … a success.  If you’re wondering –  the top I’m wearing with Rosari the Second is a Tilly and the Buttons Mimi blouse.  I have made this once before, it’s still not right, the neckline is much too gapey but I love this gorgeous purple fabric with the denim.  It’s from Fabric HQ and is cotton voile

rosari 11

So is that enough skirt for you? I think so!

rosari 12

5 thoughts on “20.2.16 – Rosari Skirt

Leave a Reply

