21.3.16 – McCall’s 6410

M6410

I have made several bags now but this is the first time I have used a pattern from one of the ‘Big Four’ pattern companies.

2

I made view D which is the backpack with the large outer pocket.  It came together pretty easily, as always with bags the cutting out and preparation of all the pieces took most of the time.  I used a red and white striped denim and some chunky plastic zips I had in my stash.  The trickiest part was sewing the front pocket onto the main bag, I went around twice with a zigzag stitch to reassure myself it wouldn’t fall off.  Surely there’s a more elegant way to attach a pocket like that (not that I can think of one!)

3

I made a couple of alterations – I wanted to use the fabric selvedge again as a bit of a feature so I made the front pocket flap square instead of with rounded corners, I think that’s why it’s curling out a bit.  I also left out the inner pocket and instead put another open pocket on the back (for maps and things!)

4

It’s fully lined and very spacious. There is hardly any hardware (apart from zips) which I found a bit disappointing – metal hoops and fastenings and buckles are so much fun and add a touch of professionalism to bag projects.  If I made it again at the very least I would make the shoulder straps adjustable.

Along with sewing in my free time I love to go walking – I even have a walking blog here Bath Ramblings and that’s what I wanted this bag for.  I carried it this weekend and it did it’s job – it was comfy for a near 6 mile walk (the straps are padded) it carried my flask of soup, fold-out seat, camera, water, snacks etc with room to spare and most importantly .. no bits fell off!  Here it is in action:

bag-in-action

So I would say this was a success but I think I will stick with my indie bag patterns – there is something just a little bit ‘clumsy’ about the look of it I think.

3 thoughts on “21.3.16 – McCall’s 6410

    • Ooh – yours is great, very professionally done and I love that fabric! Good luck with the next one, some of those other patterns you have on your site look interesting too. So many bags, so little time! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

